International Competition for Young Musicians ‘Ohrid Pearls’

All competitions
27/08/2020 - 30/08/2020
Ohrid, North Macedonia
Chamber music | Piano | Violin

** Due to the epidemiological situation in the world “International Competition for Young Musicians ‘Ohrid Pearls’ is postponed in August **


“OHRID PEARLS” – International competition of young musicians has been held every year since 2002 in the beautiful setting of Lake Ohrid. We believe that music competitions stimulate passionate musicianship. For many young people, they’re a first glimpse of performing in public, playing in ensembles, or of breaking out of traditional repertoire. Every year, number of young musicians take part in our competitions. The competition and the seminars during it, are an important and constant part of music education of young musicians. The purpose of the competition is to activate extraordinarily talented pupils and students, to notice the level of progress of music education, and to enable gifted pupils to become professional artists.



International Competition for Young Musicians ‘Ohrid Pearls’


The age limit is up to 25 years old.
The structure of the competition depends on the category – one, two or three rounds followed by a group final.


Every year

Next deadline



Required documents:

  • A filled out application form with an attached short biography of the applicant;
  • Copy of an ID document (passport, personal ID card or birth certificate);
  • Complete performance repertoire;
  • One photo (passport size) obligatory;
  • Address;
  • Phone and e-mail address (if applicable);
  • A receipt of paid entrance fee in the amount of:

20 € for Pre-category
30 € for A – category
40 € for B – category
60 € for C – category
30 € per person for all Chamber music categories

Instructions for payment:

Receiving bank:                            


Beneficiary Customer:
IBAN: MK07300701003358010
ACC 02 – 701 – 00335805
  • Competitors which have not paid the entrance fee will be excluded from participating in the competition.
  • In cases of cancellations by the competitors the entrance fee is nonrefundable.
  • The competitors will cover their own travel and accommodation expenses in Ohrid.
  • For the competitors that require a visa for entrance in Macedonia, the organizers will provide a letter of invitation.
  • The application process will be done completely online through a Google registration form available on the competition’s website ohridskibiseri.org.mk


  • The competition is open to musicians of all nationalities.
  • The winners of the grand prix “Ohrid Pearls” from the previous editions of the competition are not allowed to participate again in the competition.
  • The competition is public without any compensation for radio and TV broadcasting, including internet streaming. The recordings are in permanent ownership of the competition organizers which shall use them according to their needs.
  • The mandatory compositions in the solo disciplines must be performed by memory.
  • The prizes are non-divisible and will be awarded to one competitor only (with the exception of pre-category where the number of prizes is not limited).
  • Repetition of any composition from one round to the next is not allowed. The competitor is obligated to present the full score of the composition which he/she is performing at the request of the competition organizers.
  • Every competitor will have scheduled rehearsal time at the competition venue prior to their performance.
  • The organizers will provide practice rooms for the competitors from the time of their arrival in Ohrid till the time of their performance.
  • The competitors are required to register in the competition office (at the Music School “Metodi Patce”- Ohrid, “Nikola Karev st.” no. 4, 6000 Ohrid, North Macedonia) at least one day prior to their performance.
  • All the competitors are obligated to present a confirmation of paid entrance fee before their performance at the request of the competition organizers.
  • The rules and regulations of this competition are published in two languages – Macedonian and English. The Macedonian text takes precedence in any dispute concerning the interpretation of the Competition rules and regulations.

The International Competition for young musicians “Ohrid Pearls” 2019 is open to the following instruments and ensembles:
Solo: Violin, Piano 
Chamber Music: Duo Piano (four hands), Duo (two strings instruments), Piano trio (violin, violoncello, piano), String Quartet.

Contestants can participate in the following categories according to their age group:

Categories for solo violin and solo piano: Categories for Chamber Music 
Pre-category – born in year 2011 or younger

Category “A” – born in year 2008  or younger

Category “B” – born in year 2005  or younger

Category “C” – born in year 2001  or younger

Category “D” – born in year 1995  or younger

Category “A” – born in year 2008  or younger

Category “B” – born in year 2005  or younger

Category “C” – born in year 2001  or younger

Category “C” – born in year 1995  or younger



The following diplomas will be awarded in all categories and disciplines:

  • First prize diploma
  • Second prize diploma
  • Third prize diploma
  • Acknowledgement diploma

The prizes in the solo disciplines in categories A, B and C are non-divisible and will be awarded to one competitor only.

Every competitor will receive a diploma for participation.

Cash Prizes

The following cash prizes will be awarded to the competitors that participate in the final concert:

First prize: 3000 € – Grand Prix “Ohrid Pearls” and Golden plaque

Second prize: 2000 € – Silver plaque

Third prize: 1000 € – Bronze plaque


“Tomislav Zografski” foundation

The “Tomislav Zografski” foundation will award a special prize for the best performance of a piece by the Macedonian composer Tomislav Zografski (as a free integrated part of the program).

The award is consisted of a Diploma and a replica of a traditional Macedonian ornament.

Socom and Smum Prizes

Socom – The Composers Association of Macedonia awards a prize of 100 € for the best performance of a piece by a Macedonian composer (as a free integrated part of the program).

Smum- The Association of Music Artists of Macedonia awards a prize to the best ranking  Macedonian performers . The prize consist of a concert at the GOLDEN LIRA music festival.


Prize winners

EMCY newsletter subscription

EMCY will use the information you provide on this form to update you on the EMCY’s news through our newsletters and to contact you if necessary. We will treat your information with respect. If you have questions you can contact us at any time. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with our privacy policy.

Successfully subscribed!