Rokas Diržys

All prize winners
1st prize and EMCY prize
Nationality: Lithuanian
Instrument: Violin
Date of birth 2008/05/07
Promoted by EMCY
Rokas started violin in the age of seven at the Kaunas First Music School, in the violin class of expert teacher D. Galdikienė, from which he graduated in the spring 2023. Since September 2023, Rokas has been studying at the M. K. Čiurlionis School of Arts, in the violin class of prof. Rūta Lipinaitytė-Savickienė. He is a scholarship holder of the Rostropovich Charity and Support Foundation “Help for Lithuanian Children”, winner of 80 competitions, recipient of the “Maximalist” scholarship in 2020-2021 and 2023, VIVAT Future Multitalent scholar in 2022 and 2024.
At the moment Rokas plays S. Krylov violin handed over by the Rostropovich Charity and Support Foundation. Rokas performed H. Wieniawski Polonaise in A major (2020) and C. Saint-Saëns Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (2021) with the orhestra, both times lead by Vytautas Lukočius, and in 2022 he played H. Wieniawski Polonaise in D major, under the baton of dr. Imantas Jonas Šimkus. Composer Giedrius Kuprevičius heard Rokas playing his „Four Strange Dances for Violin and Piano“, and decided to arrange them for wind band.
In 2022, after a break of more than 50 years, these dances were heard again in concert halls. In these performances Rokas was playing as the soloist with the wind orchestra “Ąžuolynas”. Rokas is constantly improving his musical skills in masterclasses, and has participated in open lessons with violinists and professors Zakhar Bron, Andrei Baranov, Christian Altenburger, Džeraldas Bidva, Martynas Švėgžda von Bekker and Dalia Dėdinskaitė.
In 2024 Rokas became the 1st prize and also EMCY prize winner of the XII International Balys Dvarionas Competition for Young Pianists and Violinists


J. S. Bach: Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004 (I-IV parts)
J. S. Bach: “Fugue” from Sonata No. 1
J. S. Bach: “Gavotte en Rondeau” from Partita No. 3
N. Milstein: Paganiniana (Variations) For Violin Solo
B. Kutavičius: “Andata e ritorno II”
N. Paganini: Caprices No. 2, No. 9, No. 14, No. 15, No. 18, No. 20, No. 21, No. 22
F. Schubert/H. W. Ernst: “Erlkönig”

With piano:
T. Vitali: Chaconne
M. Bruch: “Kol Nidrei”
H. Wieniawski: Polonaise in A major
H. Wieniawski: Theme original varié, Op. 15
H. Wieniawski: “Kujawiak”
N. Paganini: Perpetuum mobile
O. Novacek: Perpetuum mobile
J. Brahms: Sonata No. 3 in D minor
C. Debussy/J. Heifetz: “Beau soir”
A. Dvorak: Sonatina in G major, Op. 100
J. Raff: Cavatina
J. Pakalnis: “Lament”
B. Dvarionas: Nocturne in F-sharp minor
B. Dvarionas: Elegia Canzonetta
B. Dvarionas: “By the lake”
B. Bartok: Romanian dances
G. Kuprevičius: “Four dances”

With orchestra:
A. Vivaldi: “Spring”
W. A. Mozart: Concerto for Violin No. 3 and No. 4 (first parts)
H. Wieniawski: Polonaise in D major
C. Saint-Saens: “Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso”, Op. 28
M. Bruch: Concerto No. 1
H. Vieuxtemps: Concerto No. 5
J. Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor
B. Dvarionas: Violin Concerto in B minor

EMCY newsletter subscription

EMCY will use the information you provide on this form to update you on the EMCY’s news through our newsletters and to contact you if necessary. We will treat your information with respect. If you have questions you can contact us at any time. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with our privacy policy.

Successfully subscribed!