International Competition for Young Pianists Arthur Rubinstein in memoriam

All competitions
25/11/2020 - 02/12/2020
Bydgoszcz, Poland

** Due to the epidemiological situation in the world and the apprearance of Coronavirus around Europe The International Competition for Young Pianists Arthur Rubenstei is postponed to November 2020 **

The International Competition for Young Pianists Arthur Rubinstein in memoriam has been organised in Bydgoszcz since 1993. The idea of the competition came from Arthur Rubinstein’s words, which he said while he was giving concert performances in new-built Pomeranian Philharmonic Hall in 1960: “You have a magnificent concert hall so you should hold international concerts here”.



Arthur Rubinstein in Memoriam


The participants should be aged up to 21 years old.
Two rounds followed by a final.


Every two years

Next competition


Next deadline




Applications should include:

  • A completed application form
  • Three black and white photos (9×12 cm)
  • A photocopy of the applicant’s birth certificate
  • A brief artistic biography
  • A letter of recommendation from a piano-teacher or a school with a full address, a telephone number and a fax number or an e-mail address of the recommending person

Application fee: EUR 150,or an equivalent sum in foreign currency


The Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities born from 01 January 1999.
The cost of travel, accommodation and meals will be covered by competitors.
The Organizers of the Competition will cover the cost of accommodation for all second stage competitors and finalists.
Competitors will be provided with practice facilities in classrooms and will have a right to one rehearsal in the concert hall.
Competitors who will qualify for the final will have one rehearsal with an orchestra.

More information here


Cash prizes

1st prize – PLN 30,000
2nd prize – PLN 15,000
3rd prize – PLN 9,000
4th prize – PLN 8,000
5th prize – PLN 6,000
6th prize – PLN 4,000

Special Prize of PLN 4,000 for the best performance of a work by Karol Szymanowski in the second stage or the final

Aniela Młynarska-Rubinstein Prize founded by Ewa Rubinstein

Chopin Prize of PLN 5,000

The prizewinners will receive the title of the laureate of the 11th INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION FOR YOUNG PIANISTS ARTHUR RUBINSTEIN IN MEMORIAM.

The competitors of the second stage not qualified for the final will be awarded diplomas of honour.

The Jury reserves the right not to select the winner and change the number of prizes.

The decisions of the Jury are final and competitors cannot appeal



Visit original competition page Website

Prize winners

EMCY newsletter subscription

EMCY will use the information you provide on this form to update you on the EMCY’s news through our newsletters and to contact you if necessary. We will treat your information with respect. If you have questions you can contact us at any time. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with our privacy policy.

Successfully subscribed!