Weng Qingzhu

All prize winners
EMCY Prize
Nationality: Chinese
Instrument: Violin
Date of birth 2001/08/30
Promoted by EMCY, GMAF - Play! 2018

Qingzhu Weng was born in 2001 in Zhejiang, China. He started studying violin at the age of four and visited the Xiamen Music School and the Music Middle School Affiliated to the Shanghai Conservatory of Music in China. In 2014, he became a student of the Institute for the Early Advancement of the Musically Highly Gifted (IFF) in Hannover, studying with Prof. Krzysztof Wegrzyn, and continued studying with him since 2017 as a bachelor student of the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media (HMTM Hannover).

Qingzhu Weng won the first prize of the “Hua Guang Cup” national competition in China at five years old. In 2016, he won a first prize in the national competition “Jugend musiziert” in Germany, and the first prize of the String Concert Academy Competition in San Marino. He also won the fourth prize and the EMCY prize in the International Competition for Violin in Kloster Schöntal. In 2018, he won the first prize of the Ysaye International Music Competition and the third prize of the Tibor Junior International Violin Competition. His first recital took place in China at the age of eleven. In 2017, he held three recitals in Bologna, San Marino and Imola and in 2018 in Hannover and Bergen, the Netherlands. He played as a soloist with the Studentische Philharmonie Hannover, the Loh-Orchester, the Pforzheim Chamber Orchestra, the HEMU orchestra and the Kremerata Baltica.

If you are interested in working with Qingzhu, please get in touch with the EMCY Office.



J. S. Bach – Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin B.W.V.1001–1006
L. Baiwir – Landscapes
N. Paganini – Caprices No. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 13, 16, 17 and 24 (Op. 1)
K. Penderecki – Cadenza for Solo Violin
H. Wieniawski – Caprice No.7 (Op.10)
H. Wieniawski – Etudes-Caprices No.4 (Op.18)
E. Ysaÿe – Sonata No. 3 in D minor (Op.27)

With piano

J. S. Bach – 6 Violin Sonatas B.W.V.1014 and 1019
B. Bartók – Romanian Folk Dances Sz.56
L. Van Beethoven – Romance in G Major (Op.40)
L. Van Beethoven – Romance in F Major (Op.50)
L. Van Beethoven – Sonata No.3 in Eflat Major (Op.12, No.3)
L. Van Beethoven – Sonata No.4 in A minor (Op.23)
L. Van Beethoven – Sonata No.5 in F Major (Op.24)
J. Brahms – Sonata No.3 in D minor (Op.108)
F. Kreisler – Praeludium and Allegro
W. A. Mozart – Sonata No.18 in G Major K.301/293a
W. A. Mozart – Sonata No.22 in A Major K.305/293d
A. Pärt – Passacaglia for Violin and Piano
A. Piazzolla – Histoire du Tango
P. De Sarasate – Spanish Dances (Op.23)
H. K. Sha – Pastoral
P. I. Tchaikovsky – Valse-Scherzo (Op.34, TH58)
H. Wieniawski – Scherzo Tarantelle (Op.16)
H. Wieniawski – Variations on an Original Theme (Op.15)

Chamber music

J. S. Bach – Double Violin Concerto in E Major B.W.V.1043
J. Brahms – Horn Trio in E flat Major (Op.40)
J. Halvorsen – Passacaglia for Violin and Viola
J. Haydn – Piano Trio No.39 Hob.XV/25
A. Khachaturian – Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Piano
W. A. Mozart – Duo for Violin and Viola in G Major K.423
P. De Sarasate – Navarra (Op.33)
A. Vivaldi – Concerto for 2 Violins in A minor RV522

With orchestra

J. S. Bach – Concerto No.2 in E Major B.W.V.1042
J. Brahms – Concerto in D Major (Op.77)
M. Bruch – Concerto No.1 in G minor (Op.26)
M. Bruch – Scottish Fantasy (Op.46)
A. Dvořák – Concerto in A minor (Op.53)
J. Haydn – Concerto No.4 in G Major Hob.VIIa/4
D. Kabalevsky – Concerto in C Major (Op.48)
F. Mendelssohn – Concerto in D minor MWV O3
F. Mendelssohn – Concerto in E minor (Op.64)
W. A. Mozart – Concerto No.3 in G Major K.217
W. A. Mozart – Concerto No.5 in A Major K.219
W. A. Mozart – Rondo in C Major K.373
N. Paganini – Concerto No.1 in D Major (Op.6)
C. Saint-Saëns – Concerto No.3 in B minor (Op.61)
C. Saint-Saëns – Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (Op.28)
P. De Sarasate – Carmen Fantasy (Op.25)
P. De Sarasate – Zigeunerweisen (Op.20)
F. Schubert – Rondo in A Major D.438
A. Vivaldi – Spring and Summer of The Four Seasons
M. Weinberg – Concertino for Violin and String Orchestra (Op.42)
H. Wieniawski – Concerto No.2 in D minor (Op.22)
H. Wieniawski – Introduction and Tarantella (Op.43)
H. Wieniawski – Legenda (Op.17)


H. Wieniawski - Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 22 - Qingzhu Weng
Play! 2018 - Turkey