Skage Rollheim Larsen

All prize winners
EMCY Prize
Nationality: Norwegian
Instrument: Percussion
Date of birth 2001/03/05
Promoted by EMCY - Epoche_f 2019

Skage Rollheim Larsen is 18 years old and has played percussion for eight years. Skage is a second grade student at Stavanger Cathedral School for Music, Dance and Drama and receives further music education at the talent program called Young Talents Bjergsted in Stavanger, where he focuses on both classical and jazz repertoires.

As a musician he is conscious of practicing different musical styles, playing melodic percussion as well as drum kit. Skage has a number of 1st prizes in various music competitions, both local and national ones. In 2018 he was a super finalist in the national competition Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap in Oslo, and the Norwegian Band Federation announced him as Musician of the Year. In May 2018, Skage won the soloist prize when Tasta School Band represented Norway in the European Brass Band Championships in Utrecht, Netherlands. In January 2019 he played at the opening concert for Jugend Musiziert finals in Helsinki. Skage was also invited by EMCY to a master class/tour with Ensemble Modern in December 2019. He was a finalist at the Majaoja international percussion competition in Tampere in October 2019.

Skage has participated in masterclasses with Evelyn Glennie, Hans Christian Kjos, SISU percussion ensemble, Lennart Gruvstedt, and Mike Stern.

If you are interested in working with Skage, please get in touch with the EMCY Office.


H. Arlen (arr. R. Oetomo), Over the Rainbow
J. S. Bach, Cello suite no. 1
J. S. Bach, Violin Sonata no. 1 in G minor/ «Fuga»
C. Debussy, Dr. Gradus ad Parnassum
B. Giner, Études de Peaux no 2
M. Glenworth, Blues for Gilbert
A. C. Jobim (arr. Gary Burton), Chega de Saudade
M. Kitazume, Side by Side
C. O. Musser, Etude in C major
E. Novotney, A minute of News
A. Piazolla (arr. E. Sammut), Libertango
R. Tagawa, Inspirations Diabolique

With piano
R. Korsakoff, The Flight of the Bumble-Bee
V. Monti, Csardas

Chamber music
J. S. Bach, Toccata in D major
A. Piazolla, The History of Tango, Café 1930
A. Piazolla, Tango Suite no. 1
M. Ravel, Alborada del Gracioso
M. Ravel, Ma Mère L’oye
S. Reich, Mallet Quartet
S. Reich, Clapping music (arr. for 2 marimbas by Skage Rollheim Larsen and Tobias Furholt)

With Orchestra
E. Sammut, Sugaria, 3rd movement
E. Séjourné, Concerto for Marimba and strings, 2nd movement


Skage Larsen - Percussion competition round 2
Skage Larsen - Percussion competition round 1

EMCY newsletter subscription

EMCY will use the information you provide on this form to update you on the EMCY’s news through our newsletters and to contact you if necessary. We will treat your information with respect. If you have questions you can contact us at any time. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with our privacy policy.

Successfully subscribed!