Mona Verhas

Date of birth: 28.10.1997 verhas_mona_web
Instrument: violin
Nationality: Belgian

Belfius Classics


1st prize, EMCY Prize

Contact: through the  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Born in 1997, Mona started playing the violin at the age of 4 and studied under the Suzuki method with Koen Rens.

In 2009, Mona began to study with Erik Sluys at the Music Academy of Anderlecht (Brussels).

In 2011, she won the International Soloist Competition in Cièza (Spain) and performed Mozart’s 3rd concerto with orchestra.

Mona won the Soloist Competition of Jeugd en Muziek Antwerpen, where she performed Lalo’s ‘Symphony Espagnole’ in The Singel (Antwerp) with orchestra.

Later on, she had the opportunity to perform Mendelssohn’s concerto and Bruch's concerto with orchestra ‘Brussels Sinfonietta’ in the Flagey hall (Brussels).

She became also laureate at the international ‘Knopf-Competition’ in Düsseldorf (Germany).

Since 2012, Mona studies with Alissa Margulis at the Royal Music Conservatory of Antwerp.

Mona was accepted for many masterclasses e.g. 'The Euro Music Festival & Academy’ (Halle, Germany) with Alissa Margulis, the ‘Weimarer Meisterkurse’ (Weimar, Germany), with Midori Goto, the 'Wiener Meisterkurse' with Pavel Vernikov and Svetlana Makarova (Vienna, Austria), the 'Masterclass Apeldoorn' (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) with Philippe Graffin, masterclasses with Dora Schwarzberg and Renaud Capucon,.. She was also selected to participate the chambermusic course ‘Music Works’ in Sussex (England).

In 2014, she won the ‘Rotary Breughel Competition’ and the Public Price (Flagey Hall, Brussels).

In 2015 she won the Belfius Classics Competition (Brussels) with the highest score. She had the chance to perform the violin concerto by J. Sibelius, with orchestra Prima La Musica, in De Munt Hall/La Monnaie (Brussels) and in the Flagey Hall (Brussels).

Mona is regularly invited to play concerts e.g. at the Festival Oost-Vlaanderen/Jonge Oost-Vlaamse Solisten (Ghent).

You can listen to Mona here.




J.S. Bach, Sonata No. 1 in G minor (BWV 1001)
J.S. Bach, Partita No. 2 in D minor (BWV 1004)
N. Paganini, Caprices (Op. 1, No. 2, 13, 15, 19, 20, 24)
E. Ysaÿe, Sonatas Op. 27, No. 3 in D minor, No. 4 in E minor
V. Barkauskas, Partita Op.12

With piano:

E. Chausson, Poème Op.25
N. Paganini, Mozesvariations
J. Massenet, Meditations from Thais
L. Beethoven, Romance No.2 in F Major Op.50
F. Kreisler, Praeludium and Allegro
H. Vieuxtemps, Ballade et Polonaise Op.38
E. Bloch, Nigun (Baal Shem)
T. A. Vitali, Chaconne in G minor
V. Monti, Czardas
B. Bartok, Roumanian Folkdances
H. Wieniawski, Variations on an Original Theme Op.15
H. Wieniawski, Caprice No. 4, Op. 18
H. Wieniawski, Polonaise Brilliante No. 2, Op.21
H. Wieniawski, Scherzo-Tarentelle Op.16
V. Kissine, Caprice

Chamber music:

C. Franck, Sonate for violin and piano in A Major
L. Beethoven, Sonata No. 5 in F Major Op. 24
F. Schubert, String Quartet No. 4 in C Major
L. Beethoven, Pianotrio Op. 1, No. 3 in C minor
A.Dvorak, String Quartet Op. 106, No. 13 in G majo
A.Dvorak Pianotrio Op.90, No. 4 in E minor
F. Mendelssohn, String Quartet Op.80, No.6 in F minor
J. Brahms, Pianotrio Op.87, No. 2 in C Major
W.A. Mozart, String Quintet K516 No.4 in G minor
S. Taneyev String Quintet Op.16, No.2 in C Major
E. Chausson, Piano Quartet Op.30 in A Major
Händel-Halvorsen, Passacaglia, Duo for cello and violin, in G minor
C. Saint-Saëns, String Quartet Op.112, No. 1 in E minor
D. Shostakovich, 5 pieces for two violins and piano, in B minor

J. Haydn, String Quartet Op. 76, No. 3 in C Major (Kaiser)

With orchestra:

W.A. Mozart, Concerto No.3 in G Major
W.A. Mozart, Concerto No. 5 in A Major
M. Bruch, Concerto No.1 in G minor Op. 26
F. Mendelssohn, Concerto in E minor Op.64
E. Lalo, Symphony Espagnole Op. 21 (1st Mvmt)
P. De Sarasate, Carmen Fantasy
P. De Sarasate, Zigeunerweisen
L. Beethoven, Romance No.2 in F Major Op.50
D. Kabalevsky, Concerto Op.48 (1st Mvmt)
J. Sibelius, Concerto in D minor
J.S. Bach, Double Violin Concerto in D minor
J.S. Bach, Concerto in A minor

If you are interested in working with Mona, please get in touch with the EMCY Office.


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Members' Area

Latest News