Successful 2013 edition of the Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap


The Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap (Norwegian Music Competition for Youth) took place at the Music Academy in Oslo between 22th and 23th of November. After having competed in regional finals at the end of October, the winners gathered in Oslo for the final rounds. The National championship has three levels: Semifinal, Final and Superfinal. This is a concept that was tried out for the first time last year. It was very well received and the aim was to create a concentrated competition with more excitement to make audiences stay to the very end. The competition started Friday morning with the participants competing in the following categories: Piano/solo, Wind instruments/ solo, percussion/solo, duo and ensemble. The Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap was organized by the Norwegian Council for Music Schools, the Norwegian Association of Brass Bands and the Norwegian Music Teachers Association ( which after the competition changed their name to The Music Padagogues, Norway).

A European Concert took place in the big concert hall at the Music Academy on Friday evening. The concert was hosted by Otto Graf who announced the winners. There were guest appearances from the excellent trumpet player Corinne Fischer from Switzerland, the virtuous Chinese pianist Jinman Liand the Norwegian violinist Joachim Roeberghagen, the overall winner and Musician of the Year from Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap 2012, who played beautifully.

The Final started Saturday at eleven with a concert where all the best first prize winners performed. For the Superfinal in the evening, a special jury picked five musicians or groups. They had to play once more competing for the title Musician of the Year and prize money NKR 50.000 (6000 Euro). The audience picked their favourite who received NKR 15.000 (2000 Euro).

Kristin Hammerseth  was chosen as Musician of the Year and the prize for the favourite flute player of the audience was given to Daniel Ivanov (clarinet). The EMCY Prize was awarded to trombonist Marie Noekleby Hanssen.

As part of the prize, the winners got concerts opportunities in Norway and abroad. Six inspiration prizes were given by jury members to encourage special talents. EMCY President Paul Scholer was among the jury members of this year’s competition.

Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap is sponsored by the Fure Foundation.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Members' Area