Home » Member Competitions » Aarhus International Piano Competition

Aarhus International Piano Competition

Next competition: 15.03. - 23.03.2019
Next deadline: 15.11.2018
Categories for the next competition: piano

City: Aarhus (Denmark)
Age range: 11 - 21 (2 age categories)
Structure: two rounds for category A and 3 rounds for category B
Cycle: every two years
Categories: piano
Organiser: Royal Academy of Music Aarhus
Contact: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Website: www.pianocompetition.dk


The Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities.

Applicants in Category A must be born in the period 11th of March 2001 - 10th of March 2006.

Applicants in Category B must be born in the period 11th of March 1995 - 10th of March 2001.

Full rules 2017



Category A:


  • 1st prize: 6.000 €
  • 2nd prize: 4.000 €
  • 3rd prize: 2.000 €


Category B:


  • 1st prize: 8.000 €
  • 2nd prize: 5.000 €
  • 3rd prize: 3.000 €
  • 4th prize: 1.000 €



Category A:

Carl Nielsen Prize: 1.000 €

Category B:

Carl Nielsen Prize: 1.500 €

These prizes are given for the best Carl Nielsen performance in 1st Round



  • Audience Prize: 1,000 €
  • EMCY Prize



The winner of the 1st prize in Category B will be invited to give a concert with Aarhus Symphony Orchestra in the season of 2017/2018.

The other prize winners will be offered concerts in danish music societies or at festivals.


The application fee of 100 € cannot be returned. By sending the application form the participants declare that they approve the terms and conditions mentioned in the regulations.
Online application


Aarhus International Piano Competition was established in 2009 by Prof Anne Øland and her piano students, pianist Dominik Falenski, the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra and the Royal Academy of Music Aarhus. The first competition took place in March 2011 under the name 'Bang & Olufsen pianoRAMA-competition' with Bang & Olufsen as the main sponsor of the competition. After changing the main sponsor, the competition was renamed and successfully held in its new format in 2013. Pianists Rune Maahn Christensen, Jens Kjær Riemer and Christian Skovgaard Flarup are now in charge of the competition.

Last updated 31.05.2017
AddThis Social Bookmark Button