34rd Edition Of The Concours Luxembourgeois Pour Jeunes Solistes & European Competition For Young Soloists


The 34rd edition of the Concours Luxembourgeois pour Jeunes Solistes & European Competition for Young Soloists took place on Sunday, November 12, 2017. The disciplines for this year’s European segment of the competition were clarinet, saxophone and chamber music.

The event was organised by the UGDA Music School in close cooperation with the Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg. A total of 127 talented young musicians, 118 soloists and 3 ensembles (9 candidates) from 15 different nationalities presented themselves before an international jury.The musical presentation was of high quality, both on the national and international level. In the framework of the competition, the UGDA Music School, with the generous support of the society of authors’ rights SACEM Luxembourg, commissioned the composers Oliver Dartevelle, Luc Grethen and Valérie Knabe to create 3 pieces which were premiered during the competition.

Photo credit: J.M. "Lupo" Ludowicy

The EMCY prize for 2017 was awarded to the saxophone quartet Manneken-Pis. The top laureates of the Concours Luxembourgeois pour Jeunes Solistes were Julie Colin and Annkathrin Maroth (flute), Carolina Duraes de Matos Simoes and Daniel Migliosi (trumpet), Dino Ajdarpasic and Pit Crochet (trombone), Val Kravos (piano), André Wintgens (violin) and for the European Competition for Young Soloists were Ruben Raffaele Stanga (clarinet) (Luxembourg), Beatrice Gadeikyte (saxophone) (Lithuania) and the Saxophone quartet Manneken-Pis (Belgium) composed of Valentin Bouland, Maayan James, Victor Pellicer and Nicola Peretto.

Photo credit: J.M. "Lupo" Ludowicy

The closing concert was given by laureates from the EMCY member competitions, including: Laetitia Shi (piano), Yanis Grisó (violin) accompanied by Dina Juchem on the piano and Nick Engel (trombone bass) accompanied by Annie Kraus on the piano as well as the Spanish saxophone quartet “Kebyart Ensemble” made up of Pere Méndez (soprano saxophone), Victor Serra (alto saxophone), Robert Seara (tenor saxophone) and Daniel Miguel (baritone saxophone). The Kebyart Ensemble performed Elena Rykova’s award winning contemporary composition Brain-ring in the frame work of the “Première! - GIVE MUSIC A FUTURE” a project co-funded by the Creative Europe programme. It was an excellent example bringing together classical and contemporary repertoire.

Photo credit: J.M. "Lupo" Ludowicy

We would like to give a special thanks to the Ministry of Culture, the Ministry of Education. Furthermore, we would like to thank all the institutions, sponsors and protectors who support the competition, notably the Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg which allows us to organise this competition every year and helps promote young musical talents from Luxembourg.


Member Competitions Search

Define your search using one or more of the following categories:
Competition date:
(from now until)
Application deadline:
(from now until)

All Competitions

EMCY Member Competitions: National

Participation in these competitions is usually reserved for nationals or residents of the respective country. This often includes schools abroad, students at conservatoires or ex-patriates, however, so do check with the individual competitions.


Österreichische Jugendmusikwettbewerbe prima la musica


The Papandopulo Croatian Competition of young musicians

Denmark / Sweden

Oresund Solist


Concours d’excellence-Confédération Musicale de France


Jugend musiziert


National Balys Dvarionas Piano and String Competition


Concours Luxembourgeois pour Jeunes Solistes (UGDA) including European Competition for Young Soloists

F.Y.R. of Macedonia

Competition of the United Music and Dance Teachers of Macedonia

The Netherlands

The Netherlands Violin Competition


Ungdommens Musikkmesterskap (Norwegian Music Competition for Youth)


Prémio Jovens Músicos


EMCY Slovakia


TEMSIG-Slovenian Music Competition for Youth


Concurso Permanente de Jóvenes Intérpretes


Polstjärnepriset Vänersborg in Sweden (Polar Star Price)



EMCY Member Competitions: International

These competitions are open to participants from all over the world. (The city in which they take place is listed in brackets.) Many include categories which change every year so be sure to subscribe to our Newsletters to keep informed about opportunities for your instrument!


International Competition ‘Young Virtuosos’ (Sofia)

Czech Republic

International Radio Competition for Young Musicians ‘Concertino Praga’ (Prague)
Smetana International Piano Competition (Pilsen)


Aarhus International Piano Competition (Aarhus)


International Competition of Young Pianists dedicated to the Work of Fryderyk Chopin (Narva)


'Brin d’herbe' Junior Piano Competition


Anna Amalia Competition for Young Guitarists (Weimar)
Ettlingen International Competition for Young Pianists (Ettlingen)
International Competition for Violin, Kloster Schöntal (Schöntal)
International Franz Liszt Competition for Young Pianists (Weimar)
International Louis Spohr Competition for Young Violinists (Weimar)
Pianale International Academy & Competition (Schlitz)


International Balys Dvarionas Competition for Young Pianists and Violinists (Vilnius)
International Jascha Heifetz Competition for Violinists (Vilnius)

F.Y.R. of Macedonia

International Competition for Young Musicians ‘Ohrid Pearls’ (Ohrid)


International Competition for Young Pianists Arthur Rubinstein in memoriam (Bydgoszcz)
Witold Lutoslawski International Cello Competition (Warsaw)


International Competition for Young Pianists ‘A Step Towards Mastery’ (St. Petersburg)
International Television Contest for Young Musicians 'Nutcracker' (Moscow)
Moscow International David Oistrakh Violin Competition (Moscow)
Mravinsky International Competition for Youth (St. Petersburg)


Peter Toperczer International Piano Competition Košice (Košice)


International Competition for Young Pianists in memory of Vladimir Horowitz (Kiev)
International Vladimir Krainev Young Pianists Competition (Kharkov)


Menuhin Competition

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Members' Area